top of page
Search

Tipsy TTROMSO Pine Stone Sea

Today I am reviewing the Tipsy TTROMSO Pine Stone Sea. It is a single LCP DD from Tipsy.

*DISCLAIMER* This unit was kindly sent by Linsoul in exchange for an honest review and does not have to be returned. I would like to thank them for this opportunity. I will give my honest and unbiased opinion on the TTROMSO.


This is not my first encounter with Tipsy. While I am not entirely sure of their story, I have tried their previous stuff like the Dunmer Series which holds almost no place in the current IEM game. From what I remember, the original Dunmer was just your usual average V Shaped IEM.


According to the Linsoul website, "TTROMSO is a small town located in the Northern Europe that inspired Tipsy design team with its tranquil but ingenious aurora. The newly lanched model bears a unique name-PINESTONE SEA, that not only is the best interpratation of Tipsy hardware aesthetic concepts but also concludes the development of Tipsy series of products over the year. In this modern world, Tipsy envisions a federation of art and industry to surprise those who love art and music"


The TTROMSO uses a 12mm LCP DD which is the same material used in IEMs like the T3 Plus and the Aria and also the Lea which I reviewed just last week.


In this review, we will see whether the TTROMSO has what it takes to compete in this brutal and harsh IEM game.


Packaging:

The box of the TTROMSO is actually very small. Which I really like.

On the back of the box there are also all the specs and the frequency response.


Accessories:



The amount of accessories was just right and not excessive like other brands. Though I am not sure what the Aroma Tablet is for, I thought it was a very nice inclusion. The cable is a sleeved cable and is also of good quality unlike the Moondrop Aria's sleeved cable. The ear-tips fit were also able to fit me well. The pouch is a little small in my opinion but I use after market ones anyways. They also included a micro fiber cleaning cloth which I think is very useful for cleaning IEMs.

They also include a black folder with all these cards in it. These cards contain the warranty card and other information about Tipsy.


Build:




The TTROMSO is made of 3D Printed resin. There is a gold vent on the back of the shell as seen in the last picture. It is a somewhat semi custom shape. The nozzle is also made of metal and has a lip so my ear tips don't fall out easily. But the nozzle angle is not as angled as I would have wished. Because of the angle of insertion, aftermarket cables tend to stick out and the cable tends to fall off my ear. I also felt pain when I wore it with a mask due to the shape of the TTROMSO. There was also a mild driver flex issue. Overall the build quality is good and can definitely take a few knocks but may not be the best fit for everyone.


Sound: My first impression about the TTROMSO was that is was a bassy set. It seems quite V shaped to me. The first thing that really hit me was the bass. Following that, I noticed that there was great clarity in the mids as well and treble extension was also great.

Bass:

The TTROMSO's bass is quite prominent. I think the bass on it is the highlight of it. It extends really deep and provides a good rumble. It is also very punchy and is much more fun and evokes more excitement compared to more balanced sets. On the TTROMSO, you can actually feel the bass and on bass heavy tracks, you could feel it pounding like in your head. I think what is most surprising to me was the fact that it had minimal bleeding into the mids which is a common issue with bass heavy IEMs. In fact, the original Dunmer also had quite a bit of bleeding from what I remember. The TTROMSO is also able to render a good amount of detail and texture. It is something bassheads would definitely enjoy.


Mids:

The mids on the TTROMSO is slightly recessed. It is slightly thicker than was I usually listen to but I am still able to enjoy it. I usually like to listen to IEMs with a prominent midrange. Preferably something neutral with bass boost. The main reason is not because I don't like V Shaped stuff, but because I have yet to come across any that stands out particularly to me as the bass always bled into the mids. This was until I received the TTROMSO. Even though the TTROMSO has so much bass, never once did I find the midrange muddy or overly thick. I thought the presentation of the midrange was quite natural. Guitars sounded great as they had more body, and female vocals were also nice to listen to. Never once did the TTROMSO's midrange come across as harsh to me.


Treble:

The treble on the TTROMSO is not bad. It is well extended in the lower treble but I never really found it to be offensive in any way. I experienced no harshness or sibilance. Cymbals and instruments that produce high frequency sounds sounded great and had great sparkle. As we go into the upper treble, there starts to have a roll off but I think it could use some more extension in the upper treble. It may not be as airy as some people would have wished. Still, the TTROMSO still has a good amount of detail and resolution in the treble. Overall I don't really have much complains about the treble. It is able to fit my needs and I think it performs well for the price.


Technicalities:

The TTROMSO has a good amount of clarity, details and resolution for an IEM in it's price range. I would say it is able to compete with things like the Aria. Soundstage though is not the widest, is still very good. Imaging is also quite precise.


What do I think of the TTROMSO? Where does it stand in the market and how does it compete against other IEMs like the Aria?

The TTROMSO is definitely one of the better V Shaped IEMs in the market currently. It is not really fair to compare it with IEMs like the Aria as they have 2 completely different tunings so they target a different group of listeners. This hobby is very subjective and there is no one IEM that satisfies everyone. My advice to everyone is that just try it out and see what fits you best.


Conclusion:

The TTROMSO is a very competent IEM for it's price range and tuning. It is easily one of the more affordable V Shaped IEMs that have well executed this sound signature. While the TTROMSO is definitely no IE600, it is still an IEM that I think many will be able to enjoy. This is another IEM that just proves that you don't need a multi driver set up to enjoy music. I really look forward to future releases from Tipsy.


If you would like to purchase this, you can visit Linsoul to purchase them. I will leave the links below. Once again, thanks Linsoul for sending these units.


Linsoul website: https://www.linsoul.com/

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page