top of page
Search

QoA Affinity

Named after a cocktail, QoA Affinity is QoA's latest model priced at $99USD/$179SGD. It comes in 2 designs. One which has a grey faceplate and one which has a carbon fiber faceplate. I have received the grey version as the carbon fiber version was released a while later.

*DISCLAIMER*

The QoA Affinity was kindly sent to us for review free of charge. I will not distort my review in any way and I am going to be very honest.



The QoA Affinity uses a 10mm Titanium plated PEN dynamic driver. QoA has mentioned in their description of the PEN driver that it is very light weight and I have to agree with them. The Affinity feels significantly lighter than the Adonis and Vesper based on what I remember when we reviewed it previously. I currently do not have them on hand but I will make the comparison based on my memory later on in the review.


It also uses some fancy acoustic structure called the Dual Layer Resonance Control. From what I have read, it seems that it was a exclusively designed 3d printed acoustic cavity structure that uses a stainless steel HF acoustic tube in the ear nozzle.


Packaging & Accessories:

As usual, QoA's packaging is no slouch. A wonderfully designed box.


The box is not very big and is quite identical in size compared to the QoA Vesper.

They also include these cards as with all their other products which provide their contact information, social media and specs.

This is the specification sheet and I would say the provided FR is pretty accurate.

They also give a wearing guide as usual which is very nice of them.

This is what you will see when you remove the cover of the box. It's nothing grands but as a reviewer who gets a few boxes every week, it is very much appreciated to keep things small and simple. I would assume the same for other IEM enthusiasts who like to buy IEMs often.

This is their 5N SPC stock cable. It is well built and sturdy and works well.

They also provide 3 sets of Ear Tips that changes the sound of the Affinity slightly. I went with the black ones in L Size. Fit & Build:




If the Vesper fit you well, so will the Affinity. I got a good fit with my own tips and Isolation is very good for a vented IEM. Build quality is also good and made with 3D Printed resin. Not have much to say here. Sockets are slightly recessed so make sure you don't get a flat non-recessed 2 Pin.


Sound:

Firstly, I have to be honest. I didn't find the Affinity very impressive. Given how high the bench mark they set with the Adonis, I was expecting something more from the Affinity. I tried not to say any bad stuff on instagram and facebook but I'll have to be honest here. It is a little disappointing. I guess you could say its a shouty SSR with midbass.


The Bass on the Affinity rolls off kind of early. I do wish that there was a bit more subbass. The bass on the Affinity is quite lean. It is tight packs a decent punch and is very quick. Maybe a little too quick at times. It has got sufficient rumble when needed though it will most probably be insufficient for those who like balanced or bassy signatures.


The mids are not my favorite part of the Affinity. The mids sound thin and hollow most of the time. It also seems to be overly forward on songs sung by females and overly recessed on songs sung by males. Instruments also seem to be lacking a bit of detail and texture due to the boosted upper mids. I would appreciate if there was a little more lower midrange to add some warmth and thickness. The midrange makes it immidiately obvious that the Affinity is a rather neutral set.


Treble on the Affinity seems to be ok. It has got good amount of treble. It has a good amount of extension though it can get a little peaky at times. I don't exactly have any issues with it. It does get a little sibilant on certain tracks but it is still tolerable.


As mentioned in my first impressions, the QoA Affinity's technical ability is not bad. It has good amount of detail and imaging isn't too bad. Soundstage can be a little narrow and too intimate for some but it has got good height and depth.


Conclusion:

I have to say, the Affinity is a little disappointing. As someone who has tried Almost the whole Kinera and QoA lineup, I am fully aware of what they are capable of. Given that the tech is something new with QoA, I will let it slide this time and hopefully we will get to see a better implemented DLRC. With toned down upper mids and a boosted low end, I think the Affinity could have been a great IEM. The quality of the driver and the Dual Layered Resonance control technology is interesting and seems to be capable but the tuning is holding it back. I will recommend the Affinity to those who like a neutral sound and thinner mids but for those looking for more balanced sounding IEMs, you are probably better off with the Adonis or Vesper.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page