top of page
Search
  • Jason

Moondrop Blessing 2

Today we are taking a look at the famous and well known Moondrop Blessing 2.

This unit was kindly donated to us by a kind soul who is one of our readers and does not have to be returned. We thank him very much for it.


Moondrop is a brand that most of your are familiar with. They produced the well loved starfield, the KXXS, and the SSP and SSR which we have reviewed previously. They also have the S8 and A8 which my team is looking into right now.


The Blessing 2 is using a 4BA+1DD configuration with some filtering and a lot of science behind it so won't go into detail of it because I am not a science person. They are working with 3D printing company Heygears. Heygears also collaborated with FiiO before.


Because this is a donated unit, there is no box and some accessories are missing. We were only provided with a pair of tips(thank god it fit my ears perfectly.) and stock cable and case.


By right it should come with about 6 pairs of eartips and an Airplane adapter which is quite ironic in this covid 19 period. Not sure why anyone would be on a plane right now. Maybe for those who have a airplane simulator at home it would be useful.


The Moondrop Blessing 2 can be bought at ShenZhenAudio official website. You can get then with the anime faceplate or wooden faceplate with a slight top up.


Build:

The Moondrop Blessing 2 would probably be on the bigger side. There have been numerous number of people who have made this claim but what can you possibly do? It's got a dynamic driver and 4 balance armature. If you look closely, there is really not much space left for you to shrink the size of the Blessing 2. I will not blame Moondrop for that.


Stock Cable:

I will be honest. I have seen better cables at this price point. It's of decent quality although not the best. I think a 8 core cable would be more suitable for the Moondrop Blessing 2.


Sound:

When I first tried the blessing 2, it was quite suprising. I have never come across an IEM with such detail at this price point. I did feel the sub bass were lacking since I liked a good rumble. But I think overall, it's still pretty good. Sound stage is amazing as well. Very large for an IEM at this price point so won't go into that.


-Bass

The bass is a little too light for my liking. But whenever there was a need for a decent rumble, the blessing 2 did rise to the occasion. Although I did wish the bass would dig a little deeper. Other than that, the bass is well textured. Doesn't bleed into the mids. It is tight, punchy, and accurate. In other words, the bass is on point. Nothing much I can really complain about besides it not being to go as deep as I would prefer.


-Mids

I think this is the highlight for me. It is very well tuned. It is forward sounding, has good presence and mind blowing amount of detail. Decay is very good as well. I think orchestral music would really go well with this. Even though vocals did sound good, it did seem a little unnatural in my opinion. Occasionally, there is a tiny bit of harshness in the upper mids but its endurable. Not really fatiguing in any way.


-Treble

This could possibly be your endgame for IEM's if you like a good treble. Never have I ever come across a IEM in this price bracket where the resolution absolutely trashes top of the line IEM's. The Moondrop Blessing 2 is probably the at the peak of resolution already. I think it is even a great competitor to the QDC Anole VX. Occasionally there is some very very mild sibilance and harshness for those sensitive to treble. It can be easily resolved with foam tips or a proper seal. Don't need to invest in comply foam tips or spinfit tips. Just regular aftermarket tips will work well. For me, the ear tips that came with the blessing 2 did the trick.


Blessing 2 paired with Ornate Audio Wisteria


Conclusion:

Just buy it. One day if Moondrop stops producing the blessing 2, you will regret it. It's almost perfect with a few minor tweaks. From a good well textured bass, to the lush and beautiful mids, to the near perfection treble. It can't get any better at this price point.


This review was written by:

Jason

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page